Three versions. Different capabilities.
Performance vs Thrust vs Rocket: seats, propulsion, reservations and what Tesla has not specified.
Version comparisonThree versions. Nine years of changing expectations. An independent guide to what was shown, what is claimed, and what we still don’t know.


Catch up on the 2026 unveiling in six chapters: project background, driving philosophy, flight demonstrations, cockpit and aero, acceleration, and the production target. Watch the replay highlights with English captions and jump to each key moment.
Watch the Tesla Roadster live stream recapThe headline numbers do not describe every Roadster. See the differences.
Production target stated at the reveal. Customer delivery month unconfirmed.
US reservation payments start at $50,000 total. A deposit is not the vehicle price.
Official descriptions checked 15 Oct 2026
| What to compare | Performance | Thrust | Rocket |
|---|---|---|---|
| Seating | 2 seatsManufacturer claimTesla / checked 15 Oct 2026 | 2 seatsManufacturer claimTesla / checked 15 Oct 2026 | 1 seatManufacturer claimTesla / checked 15 Oct 2026 |
| Propulsion | Electric driveManufacturer claimTesla / checked 15 Oct 2026No thrusters listed for this version. | Electric drive + rear cold-gas thrustersManufacturer claimTesla / checked 15 Oct 2026 | Electric drive + perimeter cold-gas thrustersManufacturer claimTesla / checked 15 Oct 2026 |
| Flight capability | Not offeredManufacturer claimTesla / checked 15 Oct 2026Flight system is described for Rocket only. | Not offeredManufacturer claimTesla / checked 15 Oct 2026Rear acceleration thrusters do not imply a flight system. | Flight capability claimedManufacturer claimTesla / checked 15 Oct 2026Not approved for public road use; regional restrictions apply. |
| US reservation payments | $50,000 totalManufacturer claimTesla US / checked 15 Oct 2026$5,000 today + $45,000 within 10 days. US, USD. | $250,000 totalManufacturer claimTesla US / checked 15 Oct 2026$5,000 today + $245,000 within 10 days. US, USD. | Not publicly listedNot confirmedTesla US / checked 15 Oct 2026Invite-only option; no public payment terms verified. |
Six useful starting points. No rumor feed.
Performance vs Thrust vs Rocket: seats, propulsion, reservations and what Tesla has not specified.
Version comparisonKeep the old concept’s numbers separate from the October 2026 reveal.
2017 vs 2026Separate the Rocket’s claimed flight system from fan downforce and a controlled demonstration.
Flight explainedUS payment schedules, regional limits and what remains undisclosed.
Price & reservationsA dated record of what was said, what changed and what would count as delivery.
Release timelinePick two vehicles. Keep 0–60 mph and 0–100 km/h in separate rows. Share your result.
Comparison toolA 0–60 mph run ends at about 96.6 km/h. A 0–100 km/h run goes further. Rollout, tires, surface and verification change what a time tells you.
Build a fairer comparisonThe supplied unveiling recording reports 0–60 mph at 23:21. Rollout and test conditions were not established. We label it an unveil demo and do not assign it as a production specification to every trim.
Read the dated update log or follow the RSS feed for this independent site.